Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these law introduced? Is this a positive or negative trend?

There are laws addressed by some countries to restrict the amount of working hours, which are demanded of staff member by employer. In my consideration, it is possible that such a kind of laws is established to affect positively the life standards of workers, nevertheless, these types of laws can be irrelevant for developing countries.

The great level of happiness and satisfaction among community is being observed in most of developed countries. The main reason of this can be directly associated with how much time they spend in the workplace. For instance, people, who live in Norway, spend quality time with their lovers and for their favorite activities due to working 40 hours per week. This rule has been applied in lots of European countries and is distinguished from other workplace laws, because of effectiveness. Moreover, this limitation results in people becoming more skilled and swifter to do specific jobs during working hours.

Although, this law causes effectiveness and efficiency of people, who are residents of developed countries, there are some drawbacks about it, because the application of this rule can be inappropriate in newly emerging countries. In these types of countries, the exploitation of labor is widespread, and despite how much time they spend on work, they are still underpaid. In a word, their unsatisfaction due to harsh work conditions is not vitally important for employers. For example, Children in Africa are overworked in cacao plants during a day and obtain wages lower than 1 dollar. We consider that if they work 40 hours a week, the salary they will receive will not be 0.5 dollars, it becomes clear that this law is meaningless for most workers in that continent.

In conclusion, these types of laws can be suitable for developing life standards of society, we should consider where these rules are applied. The severe discrepancy between developed and low and middle-income countries emphasizes that this law is effective depending on the location. It would be better to improve the living standards of people in poverty before working ones.