Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

Recent decades have witnessed debate and controversy over the significant importation rate of food commodities from other regions of the world. From my perspective, this phenomenon is completely detrimental.

On the one hand, there is no denying that non-native food can bring several noteworthy upsides. One of the inherent benefits is the sufficiency of nutritional values typically derived from a wide range of food imports. Indubitably, many countries usually encounter challenges in terms of diversifying food supplies due to their incompatible environmental features; thereby, importing a large quantity of food might potentially render domestic purchasers’ diets more nutrient-dense, which signifies that local residents’ physical health and mental well-being will presumably be elevated.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that exotically-cropped food is unquestionably catastrophic. The first discernible drawback is that this phenomenon might potentially wreak havoc on the environment. Irrefutably, transporting a myriad of exotic foods frequently requires substantial consumption of fossil fuels, proportionately, which will likely discharge a massive amount of carbon dioxide emissions, hence giving rise to acute pollution degradation. Another intrinsic disadvantage is that this could exert severely adverse impacts on local inhabitants’ health problems. Doubtless, additives and preservatives are usually added to overseas-imported food, thus helping to maintain and enhance its freshness and flavor, consequently, which signifies that consumers might potentially be subjected to a host of physical-related diseases as a result of the effects of artificial chemicals.

In conclusion, while some people claim that importing an extensive range of exotic food might be presumably advantageous as a sufficient source of food commodities, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon is incontrovertibly unfavorable as a result of several grave effects put on the environment and buyers’ physical fitness.