Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

Some countries are funding bicycles to make its use easier. While this can be mainly attributed to the need to reduce gridlock and pollution. I believe there are far more critical measures to mitigate traffic jam.

This can be attributed to a variety of reasons. Traffic jam ,along with air pollution and noise caused by vehicles, has created an environment where city inhabitants struggle to live in an eco-conscious manner, which takes a toll on the health of urban residents. Given these circumstances, it comes as no surprise that governments promote sustainable transport like cycling and public transportation. A case in point is Amsterdam, the capital city of the Netherlands, where a bicycle-sharing scheme is already in use to reduce air pollution.

Granted, bicycle use can reduce traffic congestion by reducing the number of vehicles on the road. However, these issues could be addressed effectively through other measures. First, congestion pricing would be a perfect start. If drivers are required to pay a toll to pass through the certain parts of road at certain times, they may choose alternative roads. As a consequence, road pricing not only decreases gridlock but also encourages public transportation. A case in point is Singapore and London, where congestion pricing is already in use, resulting in reduced traffic. Secondly,

improving road infrastructure can be useful to reduce traffic jam. This is because by building bypasses and expanding roads, the traffic can be reduced.

In conclusion, many governments are investing in bicycles to make their use easier. This can be attributed to reducing traffic and pollution. Personally, I believe that there are superior approaches to decrease gridlock,such as road pricing and improving road infrastructure.