Some educational experts say that children have to do homework. However, others say that homework does more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that children ought to do homework as it improves their academic abilities. Nevertheless, there are those who say that homework does more harm than good because it gives them stressful missions. This issue is contentious because it combines positive factors such as developing children as good students with negative elements like provoking children’s pressures on studying.

To begin with, homework enables children to improve their academic performances and be familiar with self-learning skills. It is a well known fact that homework is a study which should be done by themselves without any helps, so that they can learn with their own learning methods. For example, a study conducted by University of Toronto indicated that children who were given assignments got approximately 12.3 percent more than the other children who weren’t in their final test. In addition, teachers found that the children who did the assignments illustrated well-structured answers with individuals’ distinct insights. As this shows, doing homework for children is beneficial to not only improving performances in school, but also considering their own studying style so as to be success students.

Conversely, homework can be the most enormous burden for children. This is because they have to spend a plenty of time on doing the challenging mission while children need to focus on learning the basic human skills such as socializing friends, not studying academic subjects like Mathematics. Many experts believe that it’s severely able to interfere forming children’s human identity, also it can provoke their stress. For instance, Seoul National University Doctors Association encouraged parents to care for their children so as not to spend a lot of time on doing assignments, since they expected it can be the main cause for mental diseases in children.

To sum up, it is clear that there are many advantages of doing homework for children because it can lead children to academic success. However, there are also significant drawbacks because it may cause severe mental illness to them.