Some educational institutions are replacing traditional textbooks with interactive digital platforms. Do the advantages of this shift in learning materials outweigh the disadvantages?

The traditional textbook are altered with e-books platform in some institiutions. In this essay, the reasons why advantages of this tendency outweigh the drawbacks are discussed.

First reason to this shift is that books are heavy and create problems while carrying them. The heavy bag-packs causes back pains and deformation of bone in body. For instance, most of students suffer from lordose, bacause every day they must put books with them. If students use e-books with carrying a book reader, the health problem can be solved.

Additionally, working on interactive digital platforms creates opportunities which help students for better understanding. For example, traditional books cannot contain videos, while on digital platform uses a lot of visual materials or voice records which explains the contengent of book. Specially, in the learning of 3D visualization required subjects. In analytical chemistry, visualizing molecular structure is important. Even if some tools such as plastic versions of stucture are used, it doesnt work well.

If a student borrows book from library, writing book is restricted. It is understandible, because at the end of this situation, a book will be damaged by users. Using platforms makes taking notes comfortable and it increases effectiveness of learning. Another problem is that sometimes the desired book cannot not be found in library, so pdf version is available on platforms, with paying a little money, a book can be bought.

Overall, digital learning is better for students. The lordose risk decreases, better visualisation is provided and every book can be easily reached with these platforms.