Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

International exchange for study purposes is considered to be beneficial by the researchers in education. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages that the international exchange can possess.

The major advantage of sending teenagers abroad for a certain period is the cultural exchange. Students will experience a different medium of education and gain insights about new countries. This will stimulate communication skills and adaptability in students, which in turn will benefit them in their future activities. Another positive aspect of international exchange lies in reflection and analysis. Educational systems can vary significantly, starting from classrooms and finishing with syllabus. Hence, a student immersed in a new type of educational approach will start to think differently and possibly may bring this mindset back to the home country.

However, educational exchange is not always seen in a positive light. It has been reported that some of the students tend to violate the school’s code of conduct, which causes harm to both the hosting school and the guest school. Distraction in the classroom disrupts the flow of the lesson and lowers the total productivity, meaning that both local and international students learn significantly less due to interruption. Another problem lies in the psychological aspect, as not all of the students are able to adapt to the country, or its education in such a short period. This may cause the student to lose interest in overseas education and become more hostile towards multicultural environments.

To conclude, international exchange has far more benefits compared to drawbacks. The students gain new knowledge, experience and become “global citizens”. While disadvantages are present, it is possible to eliminate them through certain disciplinary measures and the assignment of a responsible adult.