Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Employees want to get a hold of their staff any time they need them including on their days off. Although it is important to coordinate with team members about work and make sure the tasks can run smoothly, this essay believes that there are a lot more drawbacks because it violates the workers’ rights.

On the one hand, people believe that contacting their teams at any time allows them to coordinate with the team members. This is because, in a professional setting, every business unit staff has a specific job role. The employees want to make sure that the progress is on track and they want to call or text them to ensure some issues are already solved and will not hinder the progression. Sometimes, the seniors need important data, thus they have to contact them on holidays. For example, in Shopee, before Monday meetings, managers usually require their team members to prepare the report data. They wind up asking about work on weekends. However, this practice is not healthy in the long run.

This work culture has drawbacks which are violating the workers’ right to take holidays unbothered. This is because they have to take their annual leave to enjoy vacations and unwind from the busy demanding working world. Nonetheless, they are being contacted by their seniors or supervisors to check their laptops. This situation will disrupt the indulgence of their time off. It will lower the emotional satisfaction. Research in Jakarta shows that it is a common start-up culture where they have to put extra effort on weekends and even their days off because their bosses want them to send a report. This study also discovered that there is a significant increase in stress related to this bad culture. This essay thinks that it is detrimental to have this situation happen in the long run.

In conclusion, even though getting a hold of staff at any time allows employees to have the tasks run smoothly, this practice has negative effects on workers whose rights are violated and lowers their satisfaction.