Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

In recent years, many employers have taken steps to be in touch with their employees all the time to resolve any issues. While this approach has some advantages, I believe disadvantages outweighs advantages.

On one hand, keeping in touch with their employees during time off can significantly increase efficiency and productivity. In some industries, issues can arise anytime, thus available employees are highly valued. This approach not only helpful for the company but this demonstrates the commitment and top notch work ethics of employees and their loyalty towards the organisation.

On other hand, there are more disadvantages of this approach. Holidays and day offs are essential for employees as it keep them healthy and recharged. Constant communication with the employers during holidays can distract employee which ultimately convert into stress and job insecurity. Other major drawback of constant contact with the employee is reduction of hours employees spend with their family. This torn apart the work life balance.

In conclusio, while staying connected with the employee all the time may help managers to keep productivity high, the disadvantages are more significant on employee’s well being. Therefore, I believe there are more disadvantages than advantages.