Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools.

The main idea is that it should be done like that.

Some specialists argue that pupils should start their foreign language learning during primary schooling instead of secondary schooling. This essay supports this notion because easiness to learn and openness of mind are the biggest benefits of such perspective, which overshadows its unsupported drawback of confusion with their native language.

Initiating a foreign language learning at an early age will open up the minds of pupils and requires less effort to grasp. At an early age, children have natural tendency to grasp a new language as compared to in adult age. A research conducted by a language institute, demonstrated that as the age progress human’s natural tendency to learn a language decreases. Moreover, early exposure of a foreign language broaden the mind of pupils as they discover the existence of different language throughout the globe and hence realizing the existence of different people and different culture. This will make them to think how different cultures and languages initiated which gives them analytical thinking.

Those who take a contrary stance to such perspective, assert that early foreign language learning confuses the children with their native language. However, such assertion lacks empirical evidence and is not strong enough. For instance, primary schooling in South Korea, requires that children should learn at least one foreign language and when a survey conducted about the confusion created due to learning a foreign language, not a single response mentioned about such confusion.

In conclusion, initiating a language learning in early age is significantly beneficial as less effort is required and it broaden up children’s perspective. These benefits are much bigger than the unsupported drawbacks which few believes to be the confusion created due to learning other language than the native one.