Some feel that governments should prioritize healthcare instead of other important areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the issue of whether the government should prioritize funding for healthcare above all other areas has been a topic of debate. I would argue that healthcare should take precedence, as it is a fundamental human right and essential for a healthy and productive population.

Certain interested party contend that there are other areas that are just as important as healthcare. One such area is education. Education is often rightly seen as a key factor in social and economic development. For example, in developing countries, a lack of education can result in high levels of poverty and unemployment. Countries that invest in education have seen the results permeate throughout society, including the well-known examples of Japan after the Second World War and Finland in recent decades. Educational quality can in turn lead to sustained economic growth and higher standards of living for the average citizen.

Despite these valid arguments, I believe that healthcare should still be given priority in terms of state budget allocation. One reason for this is the fact that healthcare is a universal need. Unlike education, which can benefit some people more than others, everyone requires quality healthcare at some point in their lives. For instance, in the United States, the lack of affordable healthcare has resulted in many people from a variety of socioeconomic backgrounds being unable to afford necessary treatments. The consequences of this can be seen in the high number of preventable deaths each year, which could have been avoided if the government had prioritized healthcare funding.