Some feel that governments should prioritize healthcare instead of other important areas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a contentious debate over the importance of healthcare over other domains. While I acknowledge that various domains such as education, infrastructure, and environmental protection warrant massive investment, I do believe that healthcare should be in priority for any government.

To start, a robust healthcare system helps to shape the foundation of a productive society. Access to reliable medical service prevents populations from various diseases, reduced life expectancy, and diminished quality of life. It is natural that these health-related setbacks have a direct impact on economic growth and national productivity. For example, Japan consistently reports higher life satisfaction and stronger workforce, attributing it to its well-funded healthcare system.

On a broader level, healthcare serves as the baseline for other crucial domains. For example, education is unlikely to yield successful outcomes if students suffer from chronic illnesses. Similarly, infrastructure projects cannot reach their full potential if most of the workforce is absent due to health-related issues. These examples clearly demonstrate the importance of healthcare and the fact that it enables progress across all other domains.

To be more specific, the COVID-19 pandemic has delineated the catastrophic consequences of depreciating the value of healthcare. Nations that faced this situation with resilient healthcare managed to mitigate it much better when compared to those that underfunded their systems. This global-level event underscores the importance of long-term investment in public health. Take my country, Uzbekistan, as an example, we embraced healthcare not just as a moral duty but as a strategic necessity which was reflected in the country’s well-being after the pandemic.

In conclusion, although other sectors play vital roles in national development, healthcare stands out as the most critical area for the government. The government is highly unlikely to yield positive outcomes from other domains unless it treats healthcare as the cornerstone.