Some people believe that the high cost of a university degree is a worthwhile investment in one's future. Others, however, argue that because many degrees are irrelevant to the actual jobs graduates obtain, the expense is not justified. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that people should strive to receive a degree, while others consider that university degrees are useless, considering that most jobs graduates land are not related to the major. In my view, it is not worth investing a significant amount of money in obtaining a degree, because many of those who received a degree are struggling with unemployment or underemployment.

Proponents of university degrees argue that university education is about training students as independent thinkers, not about vocational training. Through critically examining others’ ideas, students cultivate the skill to think with discipline. For instance, students majoring in international relations analyze historical theories and approach international affairs with their own views. This will also equip students to approach and solve problems critically, even outside the school.

Critics claim that university degrees do not promise successful employment with students after graduation. This is notable in liberal arts majors; in the United States, the unemployment rate for those with the degree is higher than those with science degrees. This suggests that students who received university education in that field may experience financial struggles despite four years of education.

From my point of view, university degrees are unworthy of investment, especially in the age of artificial intelligence. Due to the development of artificial intelligence like ChatGPT, most entry-level jobs students would get are being eliminated. In fact, in Canada, a large number of university new graduates with a liberal arts degree are choosing a career in the service industry, where artificial intelligence cannot replace most of the roles. In addition to the example in the United States, this is a clear indication that students should rather focus on vocational training to secure employment in the future.

In conclusion, while some advocate that university degrees still play an important role in today’s society, I agree with the idea that investment in obtaining a university degree is no longer tenable, considering that degree-holders are having to contend with unemployment or underemployment.