Some feel that movies and tv shows are a good way to study history despite their lack of historical accuracy at times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It’s undeniable that movies and tv shows help people to increase knowledge of history although it lacks of validity. I do not completely agree with it because nowadays, people prefer watching historical movies or tv shows than reading historical book. It gives them great visual appeal to make the learning more engaging and memorable however it can make the information about history biased or even ruined the real history’s line.

Some people find it more enjoyable to watch historical movies and tv shows because the visual appeal can bring the history to life and make it more memorable and engaging. People think that reading historical book such a dull activity to do including student, and movies can be alternative for them to learn history besides there’re a ton of movies that based on realistic events they can watch, in fact some of them won the awards for it. Movies and tv shows also could help spark people’s imagination and it helped them to remember the events. Australian teachers use movies media for history education because the storylines in movies which helped by visual element had the ability to communicate with viewers so it can help student relate with the events and had impact to make learning effective. Beside it, movies used by the teachers to attract student interest in history. The engaging movies and tv shows help people to study history in effective way and make it memorable to them.

Beside helping people to learn history, movies can be medium to damage history because the stories are biased and mislead people. Lack of fact checking became one of the problems people missed important details and create biased perspectives. Another reason is that movies are sometimes made for certain interest and may contain false content, even some Hollywood movies distort history itself. Majority of student only remember what they’ve seen rather than checking the facts, so student believe the history as seen in the movies event hough it is biased. If this belief continues, the real history can be destroyed.

In conclusion, although learners can easily remember through interesting historical movies and Tv shows, somehow it can be ruined the history because history distortion and make it misleading to learner. Therefore, in my opinion, movies and Tv shows can be a good way to learn history, if people always do crosscheck after watching movies so they can prevent biased information and align it with true historical information.