Some feel that students should not have to take standardized tests in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people tend to agree that standardized tests are not required for students in school. However, I have a different perspective against this statement. This following essay will explain the reasons why i firmly disagree with this view.

To begin with, due to the advanced of technology, learning system has become more sophisticated and new curriculum is applied to some countries. For instance, in Indonesia, the minister of education applied a new curriculum called Merdeka Curriculum. His aim was to encourage students to study without any pressure, in that case, he erased the standardized test to simplify the learning process for students. Nevertheless, this policy has many consequences, such as students became lazier to study and did not really give a thought about their grades because they believed without following standardized test, they will definitely graduate from the school.

Furthermore, this curriculum merely lasted for a year because there are no potentials for the students’ future and the education rate in Indonesia is getting lower. Therefore, the government removed this curriculum and transformed it back to the previous curriculum, where the students should do the standardized tests in order to graduate. In my opinion, this is a wise and an excellent choice in order making students having the motivation to study hard.

In conclusion, standardized tests are important for students to test their knowledge and skills. In addition, teachers should encourage their students to study more and know how to make a great ambience for learning process. As a result, teachers might know students’ weaknesses and necessities.