Some films glorify criminal behavior which might tempt some people into crime. Do you think such films should be banned?

In this contemporary world, topic of criminality glorification has sparked considerable debate over its impacts on society and human behavior. Some people argue that such films should be banned as they may entice viewers into doing criminal activities. While these concerns are understandable, I do not believe banning this type of film is the preferred solution.

To begin with, films are a product of human creativity and imagination, an artistic form of expression that represents their ideals or view on certain social problems. Therefore, the banning of this genre of movie might discourage people’s ability to create and innovate, affecting the socio-economic balance of a country by hindering the creative process and profits generated from such films. To further illustrate, as the economy of a country relies in part on the entertainment industry, banning a popular genre of film might lower the income and profits generated by the industry as a whole; therefore, affecting the economy of the entire country greatly.

In addition, a number of directors glorify crime to address the problems facing society and dive into different views regarding these issues such as morality and the complex reasons behind criminality. For instance, some movies may use crime to raise awareness about negativities like the lack of education or bullying and to condemn the environments and teachings that led a person to commit illegal acts. Such glorification of crime can serve as both a learning lesson for future generations and provide insights into the world of criminality and the factors that led to it.

To sum up, banning movies which glorify illegal acts is not the solution for people’s temptation towards criminality, and doing so brings major drawbacks to several aspects of life such as the socio-economy, freedom of creativity, or knowledge about criminal behaviors.