Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better?

Nowadays, wearing or not wearing high school uniforms is a hot topic for students and parents, who have differing opinions about the issue. It is undeniable that both bright and dark sides exist in any issue. In my opinion, there should be mandatory regulations in high schools because it is easy to see that dressing in uniforms has more benefits than not wearing them.

Firstly, the purpose of uniforms is to express unity and guide students to focus on what really matters. Therefore, they can spend more time on other activities than thinking about what clothes they will wear. Additionally, wearing uniforms makes everyone look equal. Sometimes students with difficult circumstances feel timid about themselves, they will not be stigmatized based on their clothes. This is also beneficial for parents who do not have to spend money on different clothes for their children.

On the other hand, uniforms serve as a way to identify a particular school. For example, my school is a gifted high school so becoming a student of this school is a great honor. The fact that every student is very loved puts on a uniform – the signature clothes with specialized school students. Not only that, it also highlights the purity of the students who wear uniforms. Almost all students will have beautiful pictures when they are dressed in uniform.

Therefore, students need to understand the purpose of wearing a uniform and wear it responsibly and properly. Convincing arguments can be made that uniforms have manifold benefits. In conclusion, my view is that wearing a uniform is essential, and this is one of the rules that high schools should maintain.