Some old people today struggle with the use of modern techonologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

Technological devices such as smartphones and computers are the hallmark of our modern era. Nevertheless, older age groups may find them too complicated to operate and use. In this essay, I will discuss the causes of this perceived difficulty, and how it can be solved.

While it is true that learning new things has no age limit, it is also evident that the older someone grows, the less malleable his or her brain becomes when faced with new knowledge. As a result, the elderly may face difficulties or struggle with tasks that young people perform with ease, such as typing on a computer or dialing on a smartphone. Another obstacle is the reluctance of some old people to acquire modern inventions, because they are skeptical of their usefulness. They used to live in a past in which screens did not exist, so they do not feel the need for that to change.

Nonetheless, nostalgia does not outweigh the numerous advantages which the elderly may gain from becoming accustomed to modern technology. One way to achieve that is by designing user-friendly devices that allow instantaneous use without prior training. Additionally, companies can print detailed manuals describing how their products work and how to benefit from them. The presence of reliable customer service is also a must to ensure that any questions the elderly users may have are answered effectively.

The huge advancements in technology have resulted in the development of complex devices with which the older population may struggle. In order to solve this problem, companies must be aware of its core reasons and react however they can to make their products suitable and easy for everyone to use.