Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some work places have regulated their employee’s attire to be formal because of the nature of their business. However, others do not regulate the dress code of their workers but they focus on the quality of the tasks that are given. I believe that both approaches are acceptable and have their own benefits.

On the one hand, some organizations place a rule for their workers to dress smartly because two main reasons. First of all, people who work for certain organization are the representation of its values, particularly for those working in the field of law and health sectors. By dressing formally, they project the core values of their organization and professionalism. For example, lawyers are obliged to wear suits to shows that they are capable, serious and professional to represent their clients. Secondly, wearing formal attire can boost people confidence. When people working in serious business such as law, confidence is non-negotiable aspect; hence, formal outfit can help them to achieve it.

On the other hand, other workplaces free their workers dress code since they believe that comfortable clothes are the crucial aspect that enhance indivudual’s performance. This situation is justifiable for creative industries as they must produce distinct products with high degree of creativity. For instance, advertisement agencies allows their employees to dress according to their preferences (as comfortable as they can, no matter the styles or their chosen collours). As a result, they can produce outstanding ideas and product that meet their clients needs.

All in all, I believe that both formal and informal dress are acceptable for organizations. Having said that, it depends on the nature of the business. If the businesses are serious including law areas, smart dress is a must because it represent the nature and values of their job.Nevertheless, if the job requires high level of creativity such as advertisement industies, wearing casual dress is a beneficial as it will not limit workers comfortability to produce a unique piece of work for their clients.