Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many people think that the employees who work in companies must dress well, however other people argue that the quality of work is more important than appearance. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter.

In general, most companies always have a dress code because a good appearance will become the image of a company. This means that people will judge a company based on their uniform or appearance. For example, employees who work as flight attendants must always look neat and beautiful wearing their company uniform. Although the uniform may be uncomfortable, they should still wear it to look good because it helps passengers’ emotions stay relaxed during the flight.

On the other hand, some companies have different opinions. They think that skills are more necessary than appearance. Furthermore, many people who work from home do not have very neat a bad appearance, but they have good skills to produce more money for their company. For instance, an IT employee who only works from home does not need to dress smartly to work in his house. In addition, he only wears simple clothes to work. However, as long as he can still maintain the company IT servers, it does not matter how he looks.

In conclusion, this problem is based on where you work. If you work in a service company, then appearance will be a main priority. However, the jobs which need skills usually do not prioritize good appearance. Personally, I think that having a good appearance and skills is better because someone who has these two things will get a good job with a high salary.