Some parents buy their children a lot of toys to play with.What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Parenting has always been a challenging responsibility. In recent years, an increasing number of individuals purchase lots of different toys for their children for various reasons. While this tendency offers numerous benefits in terms of improved imagination and motor skills, it may also present certain drawbacks related to losing the value of things and spoiling.

One of the primary advantages of buying a lot of toys for kids is the development of imagination and motor skills. In other words, children, while playing with toys, can come up with countless various stories and scenarios that usually boost their creativity, especially when there are lots of toys. Moreover, motor skills can also be improved by specific toys such as Lego, building sets, and other construction toys. These toys give an opportunity to build kids’ own world, unique characters, and present and develop a story in their own way. In addition, sometimes purchasing the toy that a child wants to, can motivate them to do something complex for them, or overcome their fear. For instance, when a child is scared to go to the doctor, parents can buy the child a lovely toy as a reward after going to the doctor. So, it is more likely that the child will struggle with their fear in order to get their willing toy.

On the other hand, however, excessive toy buying may lead to several negative consequences. One significant disadvantage is the risk of misunderstanding the value of things. That is to say that buying a vast number of toys for kids may shape their feelings of the importance of a certain toy or even things. For example, they might be irresponsibly threatening them, which, as a result, may lead to many broken toys even if they are expensive. Another primary close-related drawback of purchasing a huge number of toys is that a child can become spoiled. This means that no matter how many toys the child has, he or she will ask for more and more toys, even if they already have a lot of them. In most cases, they can even cry, forcing their parents to buy a new toy because it has become something common for them.

In conclusion, although buying lots of toys may provide some benefits, such as the nurturing of creativity and cognitive skills, there are several negative aspects as well, in terms of overindulgence and not knowing the value of things.