Some people are reducing their walks, however many health experts say that walking is the best exercise to maintain health. Why do people walk less? What might encourage people to walk longer distances?

Despite it is being recommended by health experts to walk as the best exercise, some people tend to walk less in everyday life. The origins of this appear to be focused on two areas, and a number of answers to a problem also appear to be possible.

Perhaps the major factor here is the enhancement of transportation. For instance, in the past, people used to walk hundreds or thousands miles to reach one destination to another one, but these days people can arrive easily wherever they want by vehicles such as cars, bikes, trains. As a result, people prefer to travel by different types of transportation in stead of walking. Another cause is that numerous individuals prefer to spend their time on the Internet watching movies and Netflix rather than going for a walk which can improve their immunity. For instance, people used to walk towards the parks in order to get some fresh air and be much healthy. However, recently they have become addicted to their phones and the social media. As a result, they are not going for a walk which is very important for their health.

Turning to possible solutions, perhaps the most effective and most immediate solution would be for people to open offices closer to communities and force people not to travel in their private vehicles and encourage people to walk to workplaces. This would lessen the number of people who travel by vehicles. Another remedy may be to organize different activities by government for people, so that they can spend the most of free time that they have. Activities like jogging, destination walk, nature walk can be used to maximize any opportunities for walking instead of spending time on the Internet.

To sum up, this is a problem that has both physical and health effects, and the solution will require combined action by governments and people.