Some people argue that in education today, the main goal should be to prepare students for the workforce; others believe that schools should prioritize personal development, such as the arts, critical thinking, and life skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about what should be the main porpuse in eduaction. While some people argue, students should be prepared to workforce; others highlight the importance of personal growth. In my opinion, both aspects are equal important, however, the last one overweight because by having a well-stablished mindset, everything else become easier to get.

To begin with, preparing students for workforce provide them with techiniques to get good job opportunities, fair salaries, rules based on law for employees’ protection and knowledge about how to scale their career. All of this is useful and would allow people to avoid commiting mistakes when starting in the job market. As instance, a recent study made by Cambridge Univeristy showed that 76% of people looking for jobs fail in getting one because they do know the right procedures and that around six of ten workers get stuck in comapies for being unknowledge about contract’s clauses.

Even though, prioritize personal development is in my opinion more important and plays an important role in a person’s life. Being aware about our passions, and develop social skills would eventually drive us to thee right path in all aspects: relationships, family, studies, work etc. As an example, I would have liked my school to focus its teaching in exploriting my abilities in order to help me taking educational decitions, also, how to handle daily life situations such as, communication and interactions.

To conclude, I believe schools should focus its teaching in personal development from a young age. This not only would help them to control different situations in life but at the same time would having a positive impact in knowing how to behave in the workforce.