Some people argue that technology has made communication easier and more effective. Others believe that it has led to a decline in face-to-face interactions and genuine relationships. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In our contemporary society, it has been widely acknowledged that the advancements in technology can make people’s communication much more convenient and easier. While this concept is somewhat justified, I would contend that high-tech gadgets can lead to a significant decline in interactions in person and the weakening of several personal relationships.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some argue that social platforms could address problems in communicating. The key rationale is that several people such as migrants, international students, business partners need to stay connected across the countries. This can promote a healthy relationship between both nations, while they would enjoy the benefits of contacting their others. For example, some migrant students studying abroad need a wide range of networks in order to keep in touch with professors, peers and research collaborators back home. Therefore, technology plays a pivotal role in education, family bonds and business works.

On the other hand, while some people believe that the aforementioned benefits are enormous, I am of the opinion that advanced gadgets can be considered as the double-edged nature of technology. Firstly, superficial interactions will cause weakened intimacy, since over-reliance on virtual contact can make bonds feel less authentic. While they may exchange daily messages, these interactions often lack depth because subtle emotional cues such as facial expressions or body language are missing; as a result, their relationships can feel less genuine, and even close friends may drift apart over time. Secondly, social media scrolling can lead to addiction and overuse; hence, people lack time for their families and friends in person. A teenager might spend hours playing online games with strangers, which reduces the amount of meaningful time they spend with parents or siblings, this habit can erode family closeness.

In conclusion, while several people think that technology is a feasible approach to tackle communication problems, it seems to me that technology is a double-edged sword that causes addictions, overuse and weakened intimacy.