Some people argue that we are born with a fixed personality while others argue that we develop our personality because of our experiences. What do you think is the most important factor?

It is believed by some people that humans are born with fixed personality characteristics, however others think that character is developed by individual experience. It is my firm belief that we are born with some patterns but in most cases our personality depends on many factors which surround us from childhood.

Empirically, researchers in behavior genetics strongly suggest that psychological patterns are transmitted via biological channels. This transmission occurs through the DNA of the child’s father. The Y chromosome can carry genetic predispositions that influence emotional regulation and increase vulnerability to certain mental disorders. Hence, based on data I formed an opinion: a child is born with a genetic predisposition to certain behaviour, but this fact is not the major one in personality formation. The simplest example is while all physically healthy babies are born with similarly structured brains, one develops into entirely different individuals as one grows up.

Nonetheless, experiences have a huge impact on how our personality is formed. To my way of thinking, character traits based on social institutions and backgrounds. In fact, experiences, especially during the early years of childhood, are shared by modern psychologists to be key to determining fundamental aspects of personality such as how self-confident or insecure, or how generous or callous a person becomes. That is all based on the mode of behavior which a kid can see in the family. Child shaping continues to be a means of various social institutions: kindergarten, school, university, and later adult life. Humans retain the capacity for lifelong learning. Although,the ability to coherently reshape one’s fundamental behaviour becomes challenging after the age of 25. This is largely attributed to the fact that the prefronatal cortex – the brain centre of decision-making, and self-regulation – reaches full biological maturation around this age.

In conclusion, I support the statement that cumulative exposure to different environments shapes our identity. Undoubtedly, all individuals are born with innate behaviour patterns. Nevertheless, as one matures, one learns to regulate and reconfigure them.