Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether individuals should research on past generations or focus on the present and future ones has been debatable. This essay will delve into both perspectives and provide the writer’s viewpoint on the topic.

First of all, learning family history is beneficial for several reasons, one of which is the valuable knowledge of individuals’ origin. The recorded family hierarchy can be complex, stimulating one’s curiosity about their ancestors. Stories about ancestors’ achievements, sacrifices, and positions can be engaging and make individuals more knowledgeable. For this reason, they can immerse themselves in the history of their families and be more respectful of their family members as well as their ancestors. Moreover, people studying their family history can take pride in their practices. For instance, table manners are different among families, and they are passed down from generation to generation. Hence, people can share stories about their exceptional traditions as a way to show their pride in their family history.

Meanwhile, others may argue that we should pay more attention to the present and future generations rather than solely studying family history. They may hold a belief that present and future generations are the ones determining history. While history is unchangeable, the present and future are likely to be written by today’s efforts. An example of this justification is Toc Tien, a famous singer in Vietnam. Though her past generations have committed some illegal actions, and the stories are somewhat embarrassing, she has strived to become a dominant figure in her family history, and she is loved nationwide because of her enduring efforts and talents. Many, like Toc Tien, will strive in their professional fields and achieve substantial success to proudly record themselves in the family history.

In my opinion, researching family history and focusing on present and future generations are incomparable. Each serves different purposes, and both are advantageous for one to gain potential success. While researching the history of the family can help one take pride in their ancestors’ achievements, focusing on the present and future may help them be as excellent as their past generations. Therefore, we should focus on both learning about family history and today’s actions to achieve success.

In conclusion, it is hard to compare whether focusing on family history or paying attention to present and future generations is more important. From my perspective, one should focus on both sides to achieve future su