Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While one school of thought holds that it is essential to conduct research on history of family, another assumption is that more attention should be paid to current and future generations. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and elaborate on why I believe the past, present, and future play the same vital roles in the development of humans’ lives.

Admittedly, there is some truth in the fact that focusing on present and future generations can yield considerable benefits given the occurrence of modern challenges that are more urgent and impactful. Chief among these is that given global threats relating to climate change, extreme weather, and environmental degradation, people have to learn to adapt and protect the future. Furthermore, owing to the rapid technological progress, the young must acquire new skills such as digital literacy, problem-solving, and creativity which will prepare them for fast-changing and severe future markets. By investing both time and resources in present and future generations, people, especially the youth, are well-equipped with thorough insights to adapt to the ever-changing world and enhance their quality of life.

However, I would argue that research on family history could also have a great influence on present and future generations. First and foremost, deepening their knowledge of roots and cultural backgrounds can foster a sense of pride and identity, thus encouraging them to maintain these precious traditions of their families. To illustrate, many outstanding musicians often inherit and promote their families’ musical environment and talents from generations, laying a solid foundation for their success. Moreover, digging deep into family history also brings individuals invaluable lessons. Broadening understanding about their ancestors’ stories can allow predecessors to avoid repeating undesirable past mistakes and learn from these valuable experiences. This can be seen in historical and economic events as those prevented them from big failures and saved them a great deal of time for discoveries and new starts.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is absolutely significant to spend time and financial resources on current and future generations. In addition, precious traditions and valuable experiences from family history also contribute to the improvement of the young generation.