Some people argue that we should do research into our family history. Others agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that it is advisable for us to look back on our family’s history. Although such idea seems reasonable, I would contend that current and future generations should get more attention compared to the past, and will give my reasons below.

There are several justifications why some believe that it is better for everyone to concentrate on their family in the past. First and foremost, this helps create for current generations a deeper understanding of the value and merits, such as bearing and rearing, that their ancestors have made up. As a consequence, they might show off their gratitude to such value by contributing to continuing and inheriting those positive traditions to their offsprings. Furthermore, as every family has their own distinctive norms and identity, generations nowadays might be able to prove their family’s tradition to more people outside the world, thus forming a multicultural society. As a result, this facilitates for those who are desired to obtain lessons regarding tradition value.

However, I contend that it is more advantageous to focus on present and future generations. This is because people can realize the current status of their family, they are more likely to prepare for the solutions to encounter such situations. As such, individuals are able to take the responsibility of caring their family in terms of gaining incomes or doing housework, especially for those living in poor conditions, and therefore help their family overcome such difficulties and hardships. Moreover, thinking of the future family might be conducive to next generations regarding the comprehensive preparation for them to cope with several challenges in their life. Consequently, this might help our offsprings reach their goals easier, especially in their careers, potentially leading to a rich and prosperous life.

In conclusion, it is acknowledged that looking back to our family in the past might present some upsides, including preserving special value and forming a multicultural setting, I still maintain that concentrating on current and future generations is far more beneficial, such as forming responsibility of each member in family and preparing the best conditions for the next generations.