Some people believe animal experimentations should be outlawed. Are animal experiments justifiable? Are there any alternatives?

The debate on whether experimentation on animals should be banned or not has been on for decades. Some believe that all animal experiments should be prohibited, while others argue that those tests are essential for scientific discoveries. In my opinion, I firmly believe that experimentation on animals cannot be justified under any circumstances, and researchers should focus on alternatives for conducting experiments.

First of all, using animals to test the accuracy of scientific findings cannot be rationalized as they can be an unexpected threat to the environment. The fauna utilized for laboratory studies, especially rodents, can introduce unrecognized diseases to the world that can cause terrible pandemics. For instance, many believe that the COVID pandemic was a result of an unprotected animal experiment. Moreover, those animal species become resistant to insecticides, and pesticides will harm the balance of ecosystems by disturbing the food webs. Another issue to consider is that of ethical concerns. The unlimited changes done to animal species and the torture they have to endure cannot be defended on any grounds. As human beings who have a much superior cerebral power, we should be more empathetic toward other living beings.

Instead of animal experimentation, researchers could adopt various other techniques that have been discovered by scientists. One of which is in vitro testing, where tests are conducted on cells and tissues inside laboratories rather than on living breathing beings. Another feasible method is computer modeling and stimulating, in which computerized models are used to stimulate biological processes and predict the effects of drugs and treatments.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that due to safety concerns and ethical issues, animal experimentation should be banned, and substitutes such as in vitro testing and computer modeling could be adopted to create a healthier and more peaceful world.