Some people believe handwriting is no longer useful in modern world and should not be taught in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our modern world today,the invention of technology have made some critics to hold the view that teachers should not teach children in schools the use of handwriting any longer.However,there are a number of reasons why this preposition can be rejected because the use of handwriting is of paramount importances in taking notes from lectures, writing exams and in signing official documents.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons while it is necessary that the use of handwriting should be taught in schools.Firstly,it is one of the most important thing a child in school ought to know, because it is useful in writing paper based exams, taking a dictation notes from lectures,and above all in signing of vital documents,such as your own personal bank accounts to avoid forgery.Everyone in Nigeria today is signatory to his or her own personal bank accounts.Recent research suggests that a child who can not write with the hand have 99per cent chances of repeating a class because he or she can not write during the exams and this would lead to underperformance on the side of the student.

However,despite these usefulness of handwriting it also had some drawbacks.Critics. argue that some individuals handwriting are not legible enough and this can put them in a distinct disadvantage most especially when a teacher is marking the exams script and will not be able to read what the student wrote.Furthermore,this could lead to failure.This is one of the reasons why in western world, children learn using software rather than handwritten words.inadvance countries kids are taught how to write using their computer gadgets,notes taking and writing exams is done using Microsoftware.It makes learning and teaching easier,it is more convenient for the children to carry about and also gives a better understanding and focus because it is interesting to read notes from the screen than paper notes.The advent of technology had also made it easier for us to sign a signature from anywhere we are.Forexample,in western world there is already what they call electronic signature machine which is used in signing of signature.Inspite all this benefit expertise worry that technology can break down or malfunction most especially during exams and could lead to loss of some information.However, this can not happen to a written word in the paper.There is need to balance things in as much as computer had it own usefulness it also has demerits.

To conclude,it is clear that some critics maintained that children in schools should not be taught how to use handwriting because some children may not be able to write words clearly for the eyes to read rather they should be taught with computer.However,with this benefits such as in taking notes from lectures, writing of exams and in signing of signature it is more favorable to balance things.