Some people believe learning a second language is for traveling or studying; some people believe there are other reasons of choosing studying a second language.

Nowadays more and more people are learning a second language. While some people believe that people learning foreign languages in order to traveling or studying in a foreign country. Others argue that there are also some other reasons to explain why people prefer to study foreign languages. In my view, I think people studying foreign languages are not just for traveling or studying.

There is a reason why it could be agreed that foreign languages are studied for people to travel or to study. If people are not going to travel or study, they can spend time in improving other ability rather than spend time on study foreign language, meaning that study others language will cost a lot of time and energy which can be used to improve their abilities and skills. In this way, they can get better.

On the other hand, studying foreign languages also has other benefits besides studying or traveling. Nowadays more and more people enjoy foreign books or films, they can understand more than the book’s meaning and knowledge when they study foreign language. Because if a language goes through translation being local language, it will lose some meaning what they want to explain, so using their own language to enjoy books or movies can get more. Also, it can need more ability in language in some corporations. This means that for international company, the stuff often faces to foreigner customers, so getting a foreign language is necessary in that company.

In conclusion, I can understand why people study foreign languages just for studying or traveling, but I also think people can get more benefits when they grasp other languages.