Some people believe museums should be entertaining places. Others believe they should focus on education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some, the main role of museums should be to entertain visitors, while opponents argue that the priority of museums should be on educating the public. Both of these views are rational in their own ways, but I would agree with the latter group of people.

On the one hand, it is understandable why museums should offer entertainment. Naturally, most of the museums are thought to be boring places. This is because they are full of historical artefacts and exhibits, which may seem to be not much interesting, especially failing to satisfy the curiosity of young visitors. Thereby, integrating some element of entertainment can make the experience for museum-goers more enjoyable, and attract greater numbers of people. For example, aside from showcasing historical objects and cultural variety, the National Museum of Uzbekistan also offers some activities which involve visitors into quizzes and role-play games. This incorporation has resulted in a rise in the influx of not only foreign tourists but also local people visiting this museum.

On the other hand, some others, including me, are of the opinion that museums should emphasize education. Museums are ideal places to teach the public about different aspects of life, ranging from history to science to art. For example, history museums can educate visitors about past events and important historical figures with authentic artefacts and exhibits, whereas science museums can give insight into how breakthrough were made and developed throughout the centuries. If we just turn museums into entertainment facilities, we would be making a huge mistake as we are missing out a very important function of museums in shaping the minds of the public and promoting our history and culture.

In conclusion, museums can offer entertainment so that they can act as a magnet for people to visit. However, I would say that it is more effective to use museums as an educational tool thanks to their distinct power to create an authentic atmosphere based on their context. 326 words.