Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is thought to be a result of social problems and poverty, whereas others claim that bad personalities are the cause of crime. From my perspective, although it is true that crime stemming from social problems and poverty is understandable, I still believe that criminal behavior results from negative characters.

On the one hand, the idea that poverty and societal issues are two of the reasons for crime is valid to some extent. Proponents of this view argue that the poor, besides being victimized by societal issues, cannot afford to pay for necessities in their lives; therefore, they have a tendency to make a living through illegal activities like burglary. Due to costly living expenses, people need to make an attempt to find ways to overcome hunger and sustain the lives of their families, especially their school-aged children, who need to go to school and have adequate food. Furthermore, social prejudices might have a negative influence on the poor since they tend to act without thinking about the consequences, which means they are often in trouble for contravening the law to gain their purposes.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that a person’s criminal behaviors are determined by their character. It is a known truth that those who were raised in a healthy environment and received an appropriate education from an early age may have nice personalities, while those who grow up in a home without supervision from their parents are more likely to lack behavioral control, which leads to breaking the law. Furthermore, these individuals frequently act on emotion without thinking about the consequences to other people. Take naughty children as an example; some families may overindulge their children and even spoil them by meeting every demand and requirement of theirs, like excessive allowance, treats, or screen time. Unfortunately, these overindulgent parents teach their kids that they should have everything, and when their wants aren’t met, they’ll use violence or stealing to get what they want. As a result, there are more criminals on the streets, which has an immediate impact on both people and society.

In conclusion, while the argument for crime comes from poverty and social problems, I suppose that the personalities of each person play an indispensable role in criminal behaviors.