Some people believe that a job provides both income and a social life, while others think that friends should be made outside of work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that it is better to develop social life with coworkers, while others believe that it is better to built social life with people that are outside of your job. While building social life with colleagues might be easiest option, I believe that social life with people outside of your work might expand your horizons.

On the one hand, coworkers are people who you see very often and share with same interests. Because, most of them might be graduated from university with the same major as you did, and obviously building relationship with them will be effortless. For example, the survey from UK’s IT companies have shown that more likely to build their social life around colleagues in the same department rather than building it with others. However, I believe that constantly being around people in work will not expand your horizons and provide new opportunities for self-development.

On the other hand, building social connections with people you do not work with might provide you not only new knowledge but also new career opportunities. This is because, people from different spheres and varied cultures help you to expand person’s social horizons, furthermore it is a significant opportunity to try yourself in different roles and careers. For example, the people who network outside of their job are more likely to be happier and well-rounded than those who prefers to stay in small society of colleagues. Personally, I believe that growing own social life with people with different societies will benefit to become self-developed.

In conclusion, although forming social connection around colleagues might be much easier, it limits you from gaining new knowledge and self-improvement and that is why it is important to network with people from varied societies.