Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Some people think that starting to learn a native language from the commencement of their education is a better method for all children instead of waiting until a child is in secondary school. Both sides will be discussed, and I will share my own perspective on the former opinion.

On the one hand, learning to write and read in one’s mother tongue is a key factor in children’s development. That is to say, children can explore their environment and their own culture, get to know their customs, and construct their personality by improving the native language skills they were born with. Therefore, focusing on the first language is more vital initially. This is a valuable opportunity that should be given to a child to create a sense of national identity. For example, many countries where most of the citizens live in a traditional way prefer to educate in foreign languages after children have improved in their mother language.

On the other hand, learning a non-native language at a very early age is highly beneficial for children’s academic lives. In the developed world, accessing literature is convenient with technology. However, science and technology are dominated by English. So, especially people whose mother tongue is not in the same family as English significantly struggle to learn English. Additionally, learning ability is better at an early age, and as time passes, not only does learning ability decrease, but also the passion to learn considerably falls. I believe all children should start learning foreign languages as soon as possible in order to keep up with improvements in the world.

In conclusion, while some people believe that waiting until secondary school is much more effective, I think parents should ensure that children start learning at the earliest possible date because of the improvements to children’s academics.