Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate over whether giving children a right to make choices on daily issues by themselves has positive impact or not. However, while some people think that it is essential for children to make decisions, I agree that it has a consequence as a society, which consists of selfish people.

Initially, some people believe that, it is necessary to allow children to make choises by themselves. Supporters of this idea believe that, it makes children more independent. Even some psychologists advice parents to listen to the wishes of their children and communicate with them in the same way as they do with the adults. For example, survey carried out by Stanford University showed that, teenagers who were given the chance to deal with matters, which occur per day, are tend to be more confident in the future.

However, I agree with other people, who think that, if each parent permits his or her children to make daily decisions by themselves, they are more likely to grow as adults, who do not think about others. I believe that life of children should be controlled by their parents until reaching the certain age, because they usually make decisions with their feelings, without caring about others. In addition, children who are not used to listen to the advice of their parents, became more agressive, when they face with the prohibitions. For instance, according to the research of the University of Berkley done about lives of prisoners of the USA, most of them were raised in families, where parents did not interfered in their decisions.

In conclusion, there is a hot debate over if it is beneficial for children to be independent in making decisions. So, while some people consider that it has positive impact, I strongly believe that it can make them selfish and affect society negatively.