Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Growing up of children on their own decisions or dependency on their parents is a debatable issue. Some people believe that bringing up children with independency can lead them to arrogant personality, but some think that letting children decide what they want to do can make them optimistic. I’ll go with the latter view, and the reasons are described in below paragraphs.

Initially, some parents who think that their children shouldn’t be dependent on them are the one who are making them confident about their decisions in life. However, the kids when given freedom to select what they want or what is good for them in their personal views, this makes them optimistic and reliable

. Subsequently, own decision making build an individual confident personality and they can decisive decisions. For instance, In Japan students in school are taught to make their own choices about what they love to do and in what manner they are better, so they select what they want to do in future, what they want to eat and what colors they are likely to wear.

On the other hand, the other view that children shouldn’t be given autonomy to their decisiveness, lead them to self loved personality and they do not think about their surrounding when making any decision. This point of view is not fruitful to kids in their future, because they are not able to stand with their decisions and are not good in deciding whether any thing is good for them or not. For instance, a study in University of California state that stopping kid from making self choices make their thinking limited and they are not immediate decision makers.

In Conclusion, in my opinion, every kid should be allowed to opt their likes and dislikes and bringing this thought in mind that this will make them self obsessed or they will not think about the affects on community regarding to their decision, it is a wrong belief.