Some people believe that building more roads and highways is the best solution, while others argue that governments should focus on improving public transportation instead.

Increasing number of vehicles have raised a concern of traffic congestion in cities. There is an ongoing debate that the best solution for the problem is building roads and motorways whereas some argue about focusing on betterment of public transportation. In my opinion, building roads is far better rather than improving buses or trains.

Building more highways and improving existing ones provide road safety because of decrease in frequency of cars passing through the transport channels. As a result, it will not only enhance Infrastructure but also decreases the amount of accidents on roads which helps to avoid unwanted traffic jams from lane closures. Furthermore, as proper divisions of highways provides better infrastructure which attracts investors overseas that enhance economy of the nation. For example, China has good infrastructure and from last three decade investors all over the world investing more in China.

Public transportation is an essential part of public facilities. However, investing in new buses or trains and improving the previous ones will not resolve the problem of heavy traffic. Because everyone prefer their convenience as a result, people use their private source of transportation nowadays. Therefore, improving public transportation will not resolve the problem of traffic in the cities until the government makes specific rules and regulations along with betterment of buses. For instance Delhi government passed a law of Odd and Even number plates recently, in which they can allow certain cars on roads on specific days.

In conclusion, public infrastructure and public transportation are an essential part of country’s development. In my opinion building motorways and transport corridors will be the best solution in resolving traffic congestion.