Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Capital punishment is a controversial issue. While some believe it is an effective way to deal with serious offenders, others argue that it is unethical and should be banned. In my view, although the death penalty may deter crime to some extent, it should not be used because of the risk of executing innocent people.

Supporters of capital punishment argue that it helps maintain law and order. They believe that the fear of execution discourages potential criminals from committing serious crimes. Furthermore, for heinous offences such as murder or terrorism, many feel that the death penalty ensures justice for victims and their families.

However, opponents highlight that the judicial system is not infallible. Innocent people have been executed due to wrongful convictions. Moreover, the death penalty is viewed as inhumane, causing suffering not only to the condemned person but also to those who must carry out the execution. In some countries, corrupt authorities have even used it to silence political opponents.

In conclusion, while capital punishment may appear to be a strong deterrent, it carries an unacceptable risk of irreversible mistakes. Therefore, it should not be used in modern society.