Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes.

It has been argued by some that the capital punishment must be prohibited, though others believe that governments should permit it for the most brutal crimes. The denial of such form of punishment meets humanities’ moral values and prevents the abuse of power by official authorities, but the acceptance of it could halt crime rates and might be more preferrable for victim’s closed ones. Nevertheless, I support the former notion.

Killing of another human being is widely accepted to be an immoral action, even when there are, as others may say, enough reasons for that. Responding with violence to violence not only undermines core human principles, but also normalises the act of hurting another human. Additionally, such implementations grant a very big power for governments, and because there are parts of the world were poltically motivated cases are customary, it might have quite concerning implications. Governments, could influence judges to fabricate cases and designate capital punishments to those who have opposing views. For example, from 1937-1938 millions of people were killed in the Soviet Union because of the politically motivated allegations.

On the other hand, killings of the most atrocious and threatening criminals might stop others from violating law. On the grounds that people will always bear in mind the possible implication for serious crimes, they, themselves, would be less prone to commit a crime. Moreover, sometimes, victims’ closed ones are left dissatisfied with the punishment that was assigned for the person who, for example, killed their beloved ones. For them it is unfair when after the passing of 10 or 15 years the criminal will be free, whereas no one could make alive a deceased closed-one.

In conlusion, while capital punishment can satisfy the wills of victims’ families and demotivate others to commit crimes, it undermines society’s moral ideals and grants the legal power for governments to kill their citizens. I adhere to notion that such punishment must be prohibited because of the aforementioned reasons’ detrimental scale of impact.