Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Capital punishment should not be the answer to heavy offenses done by criminals, according to others. However, some people disagree and it should be the means to punish those wrong doers. Though there are different perspectives, I believe that there are other solutions to manage those criminals.

Death penalty should be a consequence to the people who commit serious crimes because it is an action that will show the people how heavy the consequence they will undergo if they will commit one in the future. For example, when people see that criminals were killed because they were caught doing unforgivable acts, other people will see that as a lesson to avoid such acts. This penalty will serve as a lesson to the society that crimes will not be taken lightly. Although this can serve as a threat to future criminals, I personally believe that implementing this penalty allows criminal to have an easy escape on reality. In my opinion, they should serve justice by being in jail and suffer inside that institution.

Although state-sanctioned killing threatens criminals, it also promote easy access to end their misery as mentioned before. For example, a heinous act done by a criminal should have consequences however if one pushes through this legal killing how can this criminal serve justice if he no longer lives? Killing the person will instantly end his or her life but it will also immediately end his sufferings too. That is the reason why I do not see that state-sanctioned killings is the answer to serious crimes because although it results to death it does not give justice to the victim.

To conclude, although capital punishment as a consequence to criminals can serve as a lesson to people, it also give criminals to have a simple getaway from harsh reality. People should realize that keeping those offenders alive bring more sufferings and lessons than instantly ending their lives.