Some people believe that children learn better when they are placed in classes with children of similar academic abilities. Others believe that children learn better when they are in classes with children representing a diverse range of academic abilities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the current world that we live in certain people hold the belief that the younger generation excel academically when surrounded by children with similar abilities. Whereas, others believe that they tend to thrive in the company of kids with an array of abilities, ranging from one end of the spectrum to the other. Which one is correct? This essay will touch upon both views given and emphasise why personally, I believe that when students are put together with peers of the same academic standard, they most certainly perform better.

There are various reasons why one would be in favour of the view that children perform at a higher level when their colleagues are of the same ability. For instance, in high school, children are separated into class sets for certain subjects: Maths, English, and Science. This differentiation reflects the level of their academic ability, its purpose is to allow children of different skill levels to be introduced to school work that is challenging enough for their potential and capability. Moreover, it also increases competitiveness within the group, compelling them to take their studies seriously as well as motivate them to strive for similar success.

On the other hand, a child placed in a classroom of peers with varying academic skills could also possibly prosper and do well for themselves. In particular, if the individual is head strong, disciplined, and capable of drowning out distractions, then they could possess the potential to be highly academically gifted. However, it is known that the youth who are commonly struggling academically are usually disinterested in school, and in turn disrupt the flow of classes. With this in mind, it is unlikely that children of different abilities would be able to study well side by side and thrive in the same environment.

To conclude, although kids with contrasting academic abilities could work together, I personally agree with the opposing view that when grouped into specific skill sets, children tend to perform to a higher standard.