Some people believe that children should not be given homework everyday, while others believe that they must get homework everyday in order to be successful at school. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, homework at school is one of the most controversial topics in society. Some people believe that children should be released from it, while others argue that it is crucial for being successful at school. Personally, I firmly agree with the former opinion and consider that only without homework children can have a leisure time after school for their hobbies. In this essay, I will provide arguments for both points of view.

On the one hand, students usually have numerous lessons at school everyday and, consequently, spend a substantial amount of time there. Moreover, most of them have extracurricular activities which also take a few hours daily, therefore, they are really exhausted upon arrival home and so it is challenging for them to concentrate on homework and make it perfect. For instance, according to an article which was published in “The New York Times” in 2025, an average student in the United Kingdom spends about 8 hours per day studying without taking homework into account. Overall, I hold the opinion that pupils should spend their one or two free hours on hobbies and entertainment rather than doing homework.

On the other hand, homework is a key factor for rapid progress in all areas of education. In other words, if students study not only in school but also at home, the necessary results will be achieved much faster due to more hours of learning of a particular subject. For instance, the amount of information which I have learned in the subjects without homework is considerably less compared to ones with it.

Taking everything into consideration, it can be deduced that although the position of giving homework for students has its benefits, I consider that teachers should release them from it in order to provide some leisure time for adolescents.