Some people believe that children should start learning a foreign language from a young age, while others argue that they should focus on their native language first. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s rapidly evolving world, there is a growing debate wether schools should prioritize students to learn foreign language over traditional. While some argue children should start learning foreign language at young age, others emphasize that importance should be given to learning of native language. This essay will examine both perspectives before presenting my viewpoint on the matter.

On one hand, proponents believe that acquiring knowledge of foreign language at young age helps in cognitive development. In an early stage a child has an ability to grasp learning faster than the adult. Learning a foreign language at young age fosters critical thinking, intellectual curiosity and analytical thinking. Moreover, when students are learning any of the foreign language at an early age, give them the room to improve their fluency over the period of time by learning from their mistakes.

On the other hand, some people advocates that to conserve the culture and historical significance of the society children should focus on learning their mother tongue. Native language plays a vital role to understand cultural values and maintain the identity of an individual in the world. For instance, instead of speaking traditional language like Spanish, Italian and Hindi that allow an individuals to differentiate themselves among others, if everyone started speaking English it would lead to a loss of cultural diversity and richness.

In my opinion, to thrive in the society there should be the balance approach that incorporates learning of foreign language as well as native language. School should develop their mother tongue at the early stage, then gradually shift to learning of the foreign language by taking advantage of children natural-learning capability.