Some people believe that children who are given pocket money every week have less problems managing money when they become adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are convinced that children who get pocket money from their parents regularly become more confident in spending and saving money when they grow up and become independent. I totally agree with this point of view because practice makes perfect, first of all, and, secondly, developing new habits and patterns of behavior once you are an adult gets harder.

The more children practice in pocket money management from an early age, the more experienced they become in it, the easier it feels for them later on to manage finances as a daily routine. As a consequence, positive results motivate them to boost their level of proficiency and constantly learn new tools that are supposed to make them wealthy and successful in adulthood. For instance, children can save some amount of money and purchase a bicycle for their needs or buy a present for their friend who has a birthday; that teaches adolescents to be more organised and self-reliant.

Developing a habit in one’s junior years is easier and takes less effort and meets almost no resistance, compared to the senior years. Children’s minds are more flexible and prepared for changes and open to everything new, while when people get older they tend not to change the way they act, and their patterns of behavior are difficult to scratch or reshape. For instance, even new neuron connections form faster at an early age. This is true on a mental level as well as on a biological one.

To sum up, I am convinced that it is essential to give children pocket money to increase their level of expertise and make them more experienced in managing finances in the future, which has a higher probability of leveling up their prosperity in life. It faces less resistance to do it when the personality is forming and developing, than when it is defined and settled.