Some People Believe That Competitive Sports, Both Team and Individual, Have No Place in the School Curriculum.

It is believed that competitive sports, either team and individual, affect negatively at school. I disagree with this statement, because education not only teaches knowledge, but also prepares every aspect in society. One of them is sports, especially competitive sports.

Firstly, paticipating in competitive sports improves social and emotional skills. Players learn to control their emotions, to take responsibility, to make an effort, to make new friends, to make leadership,…. For example, when children learn to swim, they always need to make an effort without rest. If they fail, they don’t give up and keep trying. And in a new environment, students should learn to make new friends and to communicate with everyone, especially in a competitive environment, children will be encouraged to learn by other people. Additionally at school, students become more active and confident than friends. Besides, sports can improve students’ brains. Players of chess are an example, they need high concentration and calculation.

Secondly, the reason we should bring competitive sports into school is health. As you know, health is the most important thing with everyone, and competitive sports is a way to develop health. Competitive sports will promote physical fitness, control weight,… .A good example is that swimming can help to increase height, football helps to connect the body and brain,… Moreover, thanks to enjoying sports, students’ brains can be relaxed after long lessons.

In conclusion, I think competitive sports should have a place at school. We cannot deny the benefits of it in the school curriculum.