Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that it is not important to have competitive sports, both team and individual in the school curriculum. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why I disagree with the statement.

Firstly, doing sports can contribute to students physical well being. Regular participation in sports can promote students physical health, as it reduces the risk of obesity and other health issues, while at the same time help build muscle strength. Additionally, it helps students to develop an awareness to instill a habit of an active lifestyle, which is crucial for maintaining good health throughout their lives. Therefore, by encouraging physical exercise from a young age, schools can ensure that their students are equipped to make healthy choices and sustain an active lifestyle in the future.

Secondly, competitive sports can enhance students skills. When they participating in team sports, they learn how to work together, communicate, and support each other to reach their goal. Engaging in competitive sports helps students to develop discipline, time management, and resilience. These skills are essential and crucial to have in both their academic and personal life and as well in their future careers. Moreover, through competition, students learn how to handle both victory and defeat gracefully, building character and emotional intelligence. For example, a student who loses an important game learns to cope with disappointment, reflect on their performance, and strive to improve. This is important, as life will not always be successful; people will face challenges and failure.

In conclusion, I disagree with those who said that competitive sport should be removed from the school curriculum since it offer benefits such as improving student physical health and enhancing their personal skills.