Some people believe that competitive sports, both team and individual, have no place in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, we are witnessing education field which is a rapidly changing world, especially sports in school. Some individuals believe that personal and team aggressive sports must not be implemented within educational situations. In my opinion, I partly disagree with this view.

First and foremost, engaging in sports help students develop many skills and team collaboration. Competitions teach them how to handle pressure, time management and give their all. Similarly, playing sports competitively boosts the team spirit between students. When people who join in a sporting contest, they will make a union and gain mutual respect. In addition, this is also a chance for young people to improve their physical and mental health. For example, pupils will prevent diseases and strengthen muscles if they are involved in competitive sports such as football, badminton, volleyball,… As a result, students can reduce risks of diseases and build stronger relationships with their peers.

Nevertheless, aggressive sports can also cause some problems. Excessive exercise leads to heart attack and exhaustion that pupils can not be attended in later lectures and can’t catch up with classmate’s progress. Moreover, competitive sports are more likely to become conflicts. For instance, many sports that offer high competition usually make players argue more easily. Hence, these students not only can’t keep up the workload but also violate the law if they attend sports competitively in the curriculum at school.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that there are no reasons why competitive sports should be neglected in schools because of the vast advantages they bring to children’ drive for success and both physical and mental health.