Some people believe that consumerism is good for countries, whereas others argue that it has negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the wake of society development, consumerism become as a double-edged-sword. Some people claimed that it encourages economic growth and brings opportunities to a nation prosperity. On the other hand, it may lead to several drawbacks and threatens society development. I partly agree with this statement and will provide specific explanation in this essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that consumerism is the most crucial contributor to the economic growth of a nation. It encourages people to buy more products or services, leading to the expansion of manufacture. Therefore; it is benefiting the national economic. For instance, countries that develop consumerism such as China and America are considered as the top highest GDP nations. Furthermore, it also generates various employments for individuals. As a result, governments can boost tax revenues and strengthen the national economy.

On the other hand,consumerism’s drawbacks make it far from an ideal model for sustainable progress. Mass consumption may severly damage the environment by the use of raw materials, energy and natural exploitation. For example, some advanced countries tend to experience environmental degradation such as deforestation and pollution due to the mass production. Additionally, consumerism may promote a materialistic mindset. When people focus on possessions, they might neglect the truth happiness, and experience unsatisfaction feelings. As a result, this may lead to depression and various mental health issues in the long term.

In conclusion, while excessive consumption can support the economic prosperity of a nation, its impact on the environment and human values cannot be overlooked. Therefore, to remedy these drawbacks, governments should promote sustainable production and harness consumerism wisely in order to let it truly shine