Some people believe that consumerism is good for countries, whereas others argue that it has negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, governments face challenges related to consumerism. While individuals hold the opinion that overconsumption has a positive impact on countries, others believe that it has some dangerous effects. This essay will discuss two sides of this problem and explain why environmental risks outweigh the economic benefits.

On the one hand, excessive consumption plays an essential role in national economies. This is due to the fact that many people have their own business, where they need to sell their items on a large scale. For this reason, in order to maximize profits and ameliorate sales, consumerism may assist business people. For instance, when consumers regularly purchase new products, companies are encouraged to increase production and expand their businesses. As a result, this process can create more job opportunities, reduce unemployment, and contribute to economic growth.

On the other hand, this situation can lead to unbeneficial consequences. This is largely caused by ignoring pollution or ‘throw-away’ culture, where citizens will live in a polluted environment. For example, humans often overbuy things, which then are not used and are not actually needed. This behavior might increase waste and pollution, which cause harmful effects to the environment. Hence, if humans want to live in a clear area, they will need to take care of their surroundings.

In conclusion, people’s opinions remain divided into two parts related to excessive consumption. In my perspective, it has more negative sides than positive, since without a strong regulation of the environment, there will not be a future life for the next generation.