Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that tuition fees for all students who pursue university should be fully paid by the government no matter their family background finance. Whilst I believe free tuition have great benefits for those students. I presume that this controversy may give rise to some downsides.

The efforts of students not only from self-awareness but also from their families. The most common reason why students strive to achieve goals is the pressure of sacrifices and hardships by parents to send them to school. If the government take responsibility for student’s education fees, they will be distracted and not pay enough attention in study.

However, providing free education fees might either push the government to the verge of bankruptcy or increase high taxes on citizens. Therefore, financial funds are certainly exhausted, leading to a lack of qualified teachers and facilities innovation. Instead of free tuition, that money should be invested in recruiting professional instructors and modern education equipment. Environment and curriculum also exert a fairly significant impact on how each student absorbs the lesson. For example: more students have the opportunity to attend school but there are not enough human resources and campus to receive and educate them. This is not only ineffective education but also impairs the national economy.

To top it off, while I agree that it is everyone’s right to pursue tertiary education, it seems to me that the government should not fully pay for students’ costs. Instead, scholarships and education grants might be organised to motivate students.